Rant: Naming things that don’t need naming

As usual when visiting Atlanta, last night I took the rail system, MARTA, from the airport to a stop near my childhood home.  I couldn’t make heads or tails of the ticket vending machine at the airport.  It offered me a Breeze ticket or a Breeze pass.  I just wanted a one-way MARTA ticket!  Turns out a Breeze ticket IS a one-way MARTA ticket.  Why don’t they call it what it is?!   I assumed, because it had a separate name, that it embodied other features besides just a ticket.  Obviously I’m not the only one who’s ever gotten confused.  There was actually a MARTA rep on hand to help the folks who were confused – i.e. virtually everyone.

Leave a Reply

