My green resolutions

Until about a year ago, I paid little attention to my impact on the environment.  But since I started working with Tesla Motors, I’ve been increasingly conscious of it.  I’m not yet to the point of making major changes to my lifestyle, though I admire the many Tesla customers who have, such as Dr. Rob Wilder. 

But I’ve decided to consciously make a few changes.  Luckily for me, my commuting needs are minimal.  I drive only about 6,000 miles per year so I feel pretty good about my low gasoline consumption even though I drive a run-of-the-mill Infiniti G35.  (I’m a one-car household, so the two-seat Tesla Roadster sports car doesn’t work for me.  When Tesla’s more general-purpose cars come on the market I’m definitely a prospect.) Here are the three conserving habits I’ve decided to adopt:

  • Start drinking tap water instead of bottled water.  Now I rely on a couple of refillable Nalgene bottles in the frig instead of adding to the empty plastic bottle epidemic. 
  • Adopt reusable grocery bags.  I was shocked when I started paying attention to how many disposable bags I’d bring home each week.  All I have to do is remember to take the reusable bags into the store with me.
  • Use both sides of printer paper when printing drafts.  My printer doesn’t support two-sided printing, so I’m just making a pile of printout rejects and feeding them through on the blank side.  Interestingly, this has been the hardest.  For some reason I can’t put my finger on, it bugs me.  But I’m sticking with it.

These are modest initiatives – intentionally so to increase the chances I’ll be able to follow through.  And I know I need to do more.  Once I master these, I’ll think about the next thing.  Most likely, I’ll try to buck my addiction to hard-copy newspapers and go strictly electronic, though I almost get the shakes just thinking about surviving without the Sunday New York Times.

2 Responses to My green resolutions

  1. Kathryn says:

    Congratulations on making the shift.

    I work for a company that says it cares about the environment (in some ways I think it does) but you’d be amazed by the amount of bottled water and sodas we go thru without a recycling program. I have a collection at my desk and recycle it at home.

    Other things I do is buy local. Food especially. Los Poblanos Organics is the best! I get a box of yummy produce every week that is organic, in season and primarily local. So no pesticides, minimal transportation and I feel good about supporting local entrepreneurs.

  2. Dottie says:

    Hi Kathryn,
    Nice to see you here. I like the idea of buying local but haven’t achieved it yet, except for my tiny vegetable garden in the back yard (very local).

Leave a Reply

