Web sites that are too smart for their own good

Seth Godin wrote yesterday about the benefits of customizing your web site so that you don’t treat everyone the same.  Seth’s a very smart guy and this is a major trend.  But I’m a contrarian. 

I get quite annoyed when I point a friend to something on a web site, but they don’t see what I see.  Or when I return to a web site multiple times and it has changed, so I have a hard time getting back to something I want.  This is especially annoying when it appears that the site thinks it has “learned” something about me from my online behavior but doesn’t tell me what that is.

Give me a little less intelligence, and a little more predictability.

Leave a Reply

